Personal finance / AK

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Alaska

Alaskans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

25lenders in the dataset
AKstate guide
$1,067/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Alaska

Alaskans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Alaska's usury law is tiered by loan size under the Alaska Small Loans Act: 36% APR on the first $850 of a loan, stepping down to 24% APR on the portion from $850 to $10,000. A recent change raised the covered-loan ceiling from $25,000 to $50,000 and added anti-evasion 'true lender' language.

Loan rangeRateStatute
First $85036% APR (3% per month)Alaska Small Loans Act, AS 06.20.230
$850 to $10,00024% APR (2% per month)Alaska Small Loans Act, AS 06.20.230
Above $10,000Not clearly documented; confirm with lenderNot specified in dataset

Lender complaints: Alaska Division of Banking and Securities

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
View lender details

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Alaska's usury law caps most personal loan rates at 24% to 36% depending on loan size, so a debt consolidation loan priced above a typical credit card's APR (often 20% or more) may not actually save much; shop for a rate meaningfully lower than what's being consolidated.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Alaska

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Alaska-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • KeyBankRegional bank headquartered in Cleveland, OH, with a long-standing Alaska presence.
  • First National Bank AlaskaAlaska's largest Alaska-based, Alaska-owned bank, headquartered in Anchorage.
  • Northrim BankHeadquartered in Anchorage, AK.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Denali State BankCommunity bank headquartered in Fairbanks, AK.

Credit unions

Alaska's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, defined almost entirely by military roots and statewide consolidation.

Alaska credit unions posted median membership growth of about 2.0% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), one of the strongest rates in the country versus a national median of about -0.5%.

Global Credit Union, formerly Alaska USA, began in 1948 as the Alaskan Air Depot Federal Credit Union serving military and federal personnel, later broadening to cover Trans-Alaska Pipeline workers and gaining congressional authorization to serve Alaska Native Regional Corporations members. Credit Union 1, the state's only state-chartered credit union, allows anyone who lives or works in Alaska to join. Global Credit Union now operates across Alaska, Washington, Idaho, California, and Arizona, plus military installations in Italy.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Credit Union 1
  • Denali Federal Credit Union
  • Global Credit Union (formerly Alaska USA)
  • Matanuska Valley Federal Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • True North Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal; Alaska does not presently require a license to operate as a debt settlement company based on available secondary sourcing. The main consumer protection is the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees before at least one debt is settled.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Alaska insurance

Auto insurance

50/100/25

Alaska requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $25,000 for property damage liability, a notably higher bodily injury minimum than most states.

Homeowners and renters

$1,067/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$184/yr

Alaska carries real exposure to earthquakes (the 1964 Good Friday earthquake, magnitude 9.2, remains the second-largest ever recorded) and to wildfires, which have become a bigger concern in the interior in recent years. Standard policies typically exclude earthquake damage.

07 / Questions

Alaska FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Alaska?

Contact the Alaska Division of Banking and Securities, handled through the Alaska Department of Law's consumer protection unit.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Alaska?

File with the Alaska Division of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Alaska?

Tiered by loan size under the Alaska Small Loans Act: 36% APR on the first $850, 24% APR on the portion from $850 to $10,000. A recent law raised the Act's covered-loan ceiling from $25,000 to $50,000.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Alaska?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Alaska, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes. 'Deferred deposit advances' are capped at $500, with fees of roughly $15-$17.50 per $100 borrowed and a minimum 14-day term (APR typically 200%-500%). A 2025 bill (SB 39) to cap these at 36% APR passed the legislature but was vetoed by Governor Dunleavy in June 2025.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Alaska before the statute of limitations runs out?

Alaska has one of the shortest and simplest statutes of limitations in the country: 3 years for both written and oral contracts (AS § 09.10.053).

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Alaska?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but damages credit and may create taxable forgiven income. Alaska doesn't have a dedicated state statute governing debt settlement, so federal rules are the main protection in place.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text