Personal finance / ND

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in North Dakota

North Dakotans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, under a relatively new flat 36% rate cap adopted in 2021.

State data updated 2026-08-06

26lenders in the dataset
NDstate guide
$1,256/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in North Dakota

North Dakotans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, under a relatively new flat 36% rate cap adopted in 2021.

Interest-rate law

The Money Brokers Act caps licensed money brokers and lenders at a flat 36%, regardless of dollar amount, with no tiering by loan size. This is a recent protection: North Dakota had no cap at all on non-bank installment loans over $1,000 until 2021. A 2025 amendment (HB 1127) broadened the definition of "loan" to potentially capture products like merchant cash advances.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any amount36% flatMoney Brokers Act

Lender complaints: North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

North Dakota's flat 36% cap applies regardless of loan size, so a debt consolidation loan priced anywhere near that ceiling isn't likely to save much over a typical credit card APR; look for a rate meaningfully below 36%.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in North Dakota

National banks offer scale and convenience, while North Dakota-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Bell BankHeadquartered in Fargo, ND.
  • Bremer BankHeadquartered in St. Paul, MN, with a significant North Dakota presence.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • AlerusHeadquartered in Grand Forks, ND.
  • Gate City BankHeadquartered in Fargo, ND.
  • Dacotah BankHeadquartered in Aberdeen, SD, with a significant North Dakota presence.

Credit unions

North Dakota's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than comparable bank products, with membership tied to living, working, or having other ties to a specific group.

About 2.0% year-over-year median membership growth (Q4 2025 NCUA data), compared to a national median of about -0.5%, though median loan growth was negative (about -2.2%).

Tied to the state's populist banking history: the same Nonpartisan League movement that created the Bank of North Dakota (1919) fostered farmer-founded credit unions in the 1930s-40s. State-chartered credit unions can make significantly larger loans to farmers and ranchers than federal rules typically permit; ten of the state's 36 credit unions rank among the top 39 agricultural lenders nationwide.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Capital Credit Union
  • Dakota West Credit Union
  • First Community Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Town & Country Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal; regulated under a UDMSA-influenced regime administered by the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions, requiring registration and a bond. Fees generally cap around 30% of savings under UDMSA, though the exact ND-specific figure needs confirmation. A state-specific consumer warning disclosure is required before enrollment.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling
  • Accredited

06 / Insurance

North Dakota insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

North Dakota requires $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability plus $25,000 property damage liability. PIP, uninsured motorist, and underinsured motorist coverage are also required (no-fault state up to a threshold).

Homeowners and renters

$1,256/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$114/yr

Renters insurance ranks dead last (51st) nationally for average cost. North Dakota faces severe thunderstorms, hail, tornadoes, harsh winter storms, and spring flooding along the Red River.

07 / Questions

North Dakota FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in North Dakota?

Contact the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in North Dakota.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in North Dakota?

File with the North Dakota Insurance Department.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in North Dakota?

36% flat for any licensed money broker or lender under the Money Brokers Act, applying regardless of dollar amount. This cap was only imposed in 2021.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in North Dakota?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+; FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s); some lenders serve poor or limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in North Dakota, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes. Payday loans are capped at $500, with a combined outstanding balance limit of $600 across all lenders, a maximum 60-day term, and finance charges capped at 20% of the amount advanced (roughly 480%-520% APR). Lenders must wait at least three business days before issuing another payday loan to the same borrower.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in North Dakota before the statute of limitations runs out?

6 years for written contracts, oral contracts, and open accounts (N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-16). Contracts for the sale of goods under the UCC get a shorter 4-year window. Payment or acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in North Dakota?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with newly borrowed money at a fixed schedule, letting credit recover quickly. Debt settlement negotiates reduced balances but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts can be taxable. North Dakota requires debt settlement companies to register and follow a UDMSA-influenced fee structure.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text