Personal finance / CO

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Colorado

Coloradans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

23lenders in the dataset
COstate guide
$1,802/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Colorado

Coloradans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Colorado's Uniform Consumer Credit Code (UCCC) sets a closed-end consumer loan cap that's either a flat 21%, or a graduated schedule of 36% on the first $1,000, 21% on $1,000-$3,000, and 15% above $3,000 (lender's choice), covering loans up to $75,000. In 2023 Colorado opted out of federal rate-exportation rules for state-chartered banks (HB23-1229), upheld by the 10th Circuit in November 2025.

Loan rangeRateStatute
First $1,00036% (graduated schedule)Colorado UCCC
$1,000 to $3,00021% (graduated schedule)Colorado UCCC
Above $3,000 (up to $75,000)15% (graduated schedule)Colorado UCCC
Alternative flat option21% flatColorado UCCC

Lender complaints: Colorado Attorney General's Office (Uniform Consumer Credit Code)

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Huntington Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.47% – 25%
Loan amount
$0 – $50,000
No link in dataset

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Colorado's UCCC caps most personal loans on a graduated schedule that runs from 36% down to 15% as the balance rises, so a debt consolidation loan should land well under whatever tier applies; Colorado's restrictions on bank-partner lenders may also mean lower rates here than the same lender charges elsewhere.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Colorado

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Colorado-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • PNC Bank (formerly FirstBank)PNC acquired Colorado's FirstBank, with the acquisition closing in January 2026.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • KeyBankHeadquartered in Cleveland, OH.
  • Vectra BankHeadquartered in Denver, CO.

Credit unions

Colorado's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, built on a distinctly military-and-aerospace foundation layered over state-employee roots.

Colorado credit unions posted median membership growth of about -0.4% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), close to the national median of about -0.5%, with notably strong median asset growth (about 4.0%).

Ent Credit Union traces to Ent Air Force Base and Peterson Field in Colorado Springs, chartered in 1957; Air Academy Credit Union grew out of the newly established U.S. Air Force Academy, chartered in 1955; Credit Union of Colorado began in 1934 as the Colorado State Employees Credit Union. In 2026, Ent Credit Union merged with Minnesota-based Wings Credit Union to form a new multi-state institution headquartered in Colorado Springs.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Bellco Credit Union
  • Canvas Credit Union
  • Credit Union of Colorado
  • Elevations Credit Union
  • Ent Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Premier Members Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal and regulated more thoroughly than most states through the Uniform Debt-Management Services Act (UDMSA). Providers must register with the Administrator within the Colorado Attorney General's office and comply with a 30%-of-savings fee cap, maintain a trust account, post a surety bond, provide disclosures, and offer a cancellation right.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling

06 / Insurance

Colorado insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/15

Colorado requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $15,000 for property damage liability.

Homeowners and renters

$1,802/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$159/yr

Colorado carries significant exposure to wildfires along the Front Range and foothills, along with hail, which is common enough on the Eastern Plains that Colorado regularly ranks among the highest hail-claim states.

07 / Questions

Colorado FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Colorado?

Contact the Colorado Attorney General's Office (Uniform Consumer Credit Code), which administers the UCCC and handles complaints about personal loan lenders.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Colorado?

File with the Colorado Division of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Colorado?

The UCCC caps most personal loans on a graduated schedule: 36% on the first $1,000, 21% on $1,000-$3,000, and 15% above $3,000, up to $75,000; lenders can alternatively choose a flat 21% cap.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Colorado?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Colorado, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Effectively capped out of existence. Proposition 111 (2018) capped payday loan charges at 36% APR and eliminated origination/maintenance fees, effective February 1, 2019. A 2023 law (HB23-1229) closed workarounds and extended rate limits to out-of-state, state-chartered banks.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Colorado before the statute of limitations runs out?

Colorado gives creditors 6 years to sue on most debts including personal loans and credit cards (C.R.S. § 13-80-103.5), with a shorter 3-year window for certain breach-of-contract actions (C.R.S. § 13-80-101).

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Colorado?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but damages credit and may create taxable forgiven income. Colorado regulates debt settlement under the UDMSA including a 30%-of-savings fee cap, a stronger protection than many states offer.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text