Personal finance / UT

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Utah

Utahns use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

State data updated 2026-08-06

38lenders in the dataset
UTstate guide
$831/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Utah

Utahns use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

Interest-rate law

Utah is the cleanest 'no cap' state in the country. Utah Code §15-1-1 lets parties to any lawful contract agree to any interest rate at all, with only a default 10% legal rate applying when no rate is specified (which essentially never happens with a licensed lender).

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any loan sizeNo percentage cap; only an unconscionability provision and a criminal usury statute aimed at unlicensed lending businessesUtah Code § 15-1-1

Lender complaints: Utah Department of Financial Institutions

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Zions Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
11.26% – 27.97%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Fig Loans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
190% – 209%
Loan amount
$300 – $500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Kwikcash

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
99% – 499%
Loan amount
$250 – $1,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

MoneyKey

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
295% – 401.20%
Loan amount
$200 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

RISE

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Since Utah doesn't cap personal loan rates at all, there's no legal ceiling protecting borrowers from a debt consolidation loan priced at or above existing credit card APR. Shopping around and comparing the actual math matters more here than in almost any other state.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Utah

National banks offer scale and broad networks, while Utah-based and regional banks compete on relationship banking and local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Zions BankHeadquartered in Salt Lake City, UT.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Bank of UtahHeadquartered in Ogden, UT.
  • Bank of American ForkHeadquartered in American Fork, UT.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

Utah credit unions posted median membership growth of about 4.4% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), one of the stronger figures in the comparison, alongside strong median asset growth (~4.6%) and a notably high median loan-to-share ratio (~96%).

Utah's industrial roots run through the LDS Church (Deseret First traces to a 1955 'LDS Church Office Credit Union') and university-employee credit unions. In 1983, Utah's Commissioner of Financial Institutions began letting credit unions expand beyond a single county, well ahead of most states, surviving lawsuits from the Utah Bankers Association (1993) and American Bankers Association (2004). Utah now has one of the highest credit union membership penetration rates in the country, roughly 72% of the population.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • America First Credit Union
  • Deseret First Credit Union
  • Goldenwest Credit Union
  • Mountain America Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Utah Community Credit Union (UCCU)

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal. Utah was the first state to adopt the Uniform Debt-Management Services Act, effective January 1, 2007 (Utah Code Ann. § 13-42-101 et seq.), regulated by the Utah Division of Consumer Protection. Fees are capped at 30% of savings actually achieved (not total enrolled balance). Providers must maintain a trust account and bond.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Utah insurance

Auto insurance

25/65/15

Utah requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident for bodily injury (an unusually high per-accident minimum), plus $15,000 for property damage. Utah also requires personal injury protection (PIP) coverage since it's a no-fault state for medical claims up to a certain threshold.

Homeowners and renters

$831/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$145/yr

Utah carries significant wildfire exposure, particularly in dry foothill and canyon communities, along with occasional flash flooding during summer monsoon storms and heavy winter snow loads in mountain areas. Homeowners premiums rank 2nd-lowest in the country.

07 / Questions

Utah FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Utah?

Contact the Utah Department of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Utah.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Utah?

File with the Utah Insurance Department.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Utah?

There isn't one. Utah Code §15-1-1 lets parties to any lawful contract agree to any interest rate at all, so there's no percentage ceiling at any loan size, making Utah one of the cleanest genuinely uncapped states in the country.

Are payday loans legal in Utah, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes, and Utah places essentially no limits on rates, fees, or loan amounts for them. The main limit is time: a lender can't charge interest or roll a loan over beyond 10 weeks from origination. The average payday loan APR in Utah runs around 652%, among the highest in the nation.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Utah before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts have a 6-year statute of limitations (Utah Code § 78B-2-309). Oral contracts and open store accounts have a 4-year window (§ 78B-2-307).

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Utah?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates reduced payoffs but damages credit. In Utah, where personal loan rates aren't capped at all, comparing the actual math on a proposed consolidation loan matters even more than in states with a rate ceiling.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text