Personal finance / VA

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Virginia

Virginians use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

State data updated 2026-08-06

33lenders in the dataset
VAstate guide
$1,199/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Virginia

Virginians use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

Interest-rate law

Virginia's 2020 Fairness in Lending Act replaced the old $2,500 threshold structure with a single flat 36% rate across the entire $300-$35,000 licensed loan range.

Loan rangeRateStatute
$300 to $35,000Flat 36% annual, with a capped processing fee (greater of $50 or 6% of principal, up to $150), required 6-120 month termFairness in Lending Act (2020), Consumer Finance Companies Act
Above $35,000Falls to general usury framework, 12% cap, unless business/investment-purpose exempt or made by an exempt entity like a bankVirginia general usury law

Lender complaints: Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions (State Corporation Commission)

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

M&T Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.74% – 13.94%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $5,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Santander

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Truist

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

TD Bank

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 23.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
No link in dataset

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

RISE

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Virginia's flat 36% cap applies across the entire licensed loan range up to $35,000, so a debt consolidation loan priced near that ceiling isn't likely to save much over a typical credit card APR. Look for a rate meaningfully below 36%.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Virginia

National banks offer scale and broad networks, while Virginia-based and regional banks compete on relationship banking and local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • TruistHeadquartered in Charlotte, NC.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Atlantic Union BankHeadquartered in Richmond, VA.
  • TowneBankHeadquartered in Portsmouth, VA.
  • Capital OneHeadquartered in McLean, VA.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

Virginia credit unions posted median membership growth of about 3.0% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), alongside modest median loan growth (about -0.5%).

Virginia is home to Navy Federal Credit Union, the largest credit union in the world, founded in 1933 for Navy Department employees in Washington, D.C. It opened to all Navy personnel in 1954, then all DoD personnel and contractors by 2003, growing into a $197 billion institution with over 15 million members, relocating to Vienna, VA in 1977 near the Pentagon and Northern Virginia's federal contractor base.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Apple Federal Credit Union
  • Chartway Federal Credit Union
  • Langley Federal Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • PenFed Credit Union
  • Virginia Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal and licensed effective July 1, 2021 under the Debt Settlement Services Providers statute (Va. Code § 6.2-2000 et seq.), regulated by the SCC Bureau of Financial Institutions. Licensees may not accept a fee before providing the requested service, must carry a surety bond, and violations are treated as prohibited practices under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling

06 / Insurance

Virginia insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/20

Virginia requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, plus $20,000 for property damage. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also required. Virginia is one of the few states that allows drivers to pay an uninsured motorist fee instead of carrying insurance, though that provides no actual coverage.

Homeowners and renters

$1,199/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$151/yr

Virginia carries real exposure to hurricanes and tropical storms along its coast, along with severe thunderstorms and occasional tornadoes further inland; coastal counties see meaningfully higher premiums.

07 / Questions

Virginia FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Virginia?

Contact the Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions (State Corporation Commission), which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Virginia.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Virginia?

File with the Virginia Bureau of Insurance (State Corporation Commission).

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Virginia?

36% flat, across Virginia's entire licensed loan range of $300 to $35,000, following the 2020 Fairness in Lending Act. This replaced an older structure capping only loans up to $2,500 at 36% and leaving larger loans uncapped. Above $35,000, a loan reverts to Virginia's general 12% usury cap, unless business/investment-purpose exempt.

Are payday loans legal in Virginia, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Not in the traditional sense anymore. The 2020 Fairness in Lending Act renamed 'payday loans' to 'short-term loans,' raised the maximum from $500 to $2,500, required a minimum four-month term, and capped interest and fees at 36% simple annual plus a monthly maintenance fee of up to the lesser of 8% of the original loan or $25.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Virginia before the statute of limitations runs out?

Signed written contracts, including personal loans and credit cards, have a 5-year statute of limitations (Va. Code § 8.01-246). Oral contracts and unsigned written agreements have a 3-year window.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Virginia?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates reduced payoffs but damages credit. Virginia licenses debt settlement companies under a 2021 statute, a real regulatory layer.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text