Personal finance / OK

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Oklahoma

Oklahomans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, with rate ceilings that float with the Federal Funds Rate under a 2023 reform.

State data updated 2026-08-06

30lenders in the dataset
OKstate guide
$2,155/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Oklahoma

Oklahomans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, with rate ceilings that float with the Federal Funds Rate under a 2023 reform.

Interest-rate law

A November 2023 law (SB 794) sets the supervised-loan rate at whichever is greater of 32% plus the Fed Funds Rate on the first $7,000, 23% plus the Fed Funds Rate on $7,000-$11,000, or 20% plus the Fed Funds Rate on the remainder. At current Fed levels this lands around 36% on the first $7,000, blending toward roughly 27% by $10,000, and around 24% marginal for amounts above $11,000.

Loan rangeRateStatute
First $7,00032% + Fed Funds Rate (~36% at current levels)SB 794 (2023)
$7,000 – $11,00023% + Fed Funds Rate (~27% blended by $10,000)SB 794 (2023)
Above $11,00020% + Fed Funds Rate (~24% marginal)SB 794 (2023)

Lender complaints: Oklahoma Department of Consumer Credit

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Oklahoma's floating-rate schedule effectively lands around 36% on the first $7,000 and lower for larger balances, so a well-priced debt consolidation loan should land meaningfully below whatever tier applies to the loan size.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Oklahoma

National banks offer scale and convenience, while Oklahoma-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • BOK FinancialHeadquartered in Tulsa, OK.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Arvest BankHeadquartered in Fayetteville, AR, with a significant Oklahoma presence.
  • BancFirstHeadquartered in Oklahoma City, OK.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • MidFirst BankHeadquartered in Oklahoma City, OK.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.

Credit unions

Oklahoma's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than comparable bank products, with membership tied to living, working, or having other ties to a specific group.

About 2.7% year-over-year median membership growth (Q4 2025 NCUA data), though median loan growth was notably negative (about -1.5%).

Traces to 1923, when Tulsa postal worker Calvin Smith reached out to Edward Filene to charter Tulsa Postal Employees Credit Union. Industrial roots also run through oil (Muskogee Pure Oil Credit Union) and military installations (Tinker Field Credit Union, 1943). A 2026 law (SB 1623) broadened field-of-membership rules and raised investment limits for state-chartered credit unions.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Communication Federal Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Oklahoma Employees Credit Union
  • Tinker Federal Credit Union
  • WEOKIE Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Debt pooling is regulated under Okla. Stat. tit. 24, § 16, which limits and restricts how it can operate, with some ambiguity in public sourcing about whether it functions as an outright prohibition or a nonprofit carve-out. Confirming a specific provider's status directly is recommended.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Oklahoma insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Oklahoma requires $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability plus $25,000 property damage liability.

Homeowners and renters

$2,155/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$221/yr

3rd-highest homeowners premium in the country (2021 NAIC data), driven substantially by tornado and hail risk. Oklahoma sits squarely in Tornado Alley.

07 / Questions

Oklahoma FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Oklahoma?

Contact the Oklahoma Department of Consumer Credit, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Oklahoma.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Oklahoma?

File with the Oklahoma Insurance Department.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Oklahoma?

It floats with the Federal Funds Rate under SB 794 (2023): whichever is greater of 32% + Fed Funds Rate on the first $7,000, 23% + Fed Funds Rate on $7,000-$11,000, or 20% + Fed Funds Rate on the remainder.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Oklahoma?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+; FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s); some lenders serve poor or limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Oklahoma, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Traditional two-week payday loans are capped at $500 with fees up to $15 per $100 for amounts up to $300 (roughly 390% APR); borrowers can have up to two loans capped at a combined $500. A newer 'Small Lender' installment product allows loans up to $1,500 at 17% monthly interest (roughly 204% APR) over at least two months, capped at 20% of gross monthly income.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Oklahoma before the statute of limitations runs out?

5 years for written contracts and open accounts (Okla. Stat. tit. 12, § 95(1)); 3 years for oral contracts (§95(2)). Credit card debt has some ambiguity between the two. Payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Oklahoma?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with newly borrowed money at a fixed schedule, letting credit recover quickly. Debt settlement negotiates reduced balances but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts can be taxable. Oklahoma's debt pooling statute has ambiguity around scope, so confirming a provider's standing matters more here.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text