Personal finance / TN

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Tennessee

Tennesseans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

State data updated 2026-08-06

37lenders in the dataset
TNstate guide
$1,368/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Tennessee

Tennesseans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

Interest-rate law

Effective July 1, 2025, Tennessee replaced its old tiered structure with a flat 36% cap for closed-end loans of $100 or more under the Industrial Loan and Thrift Companies Act.

Loan rangeRateStatute
$100 or more (closed-end loans)Flat 36%, replacing the prior tiered 30%/24% structureIndustrial Loan and Thrift Companies Act (amended effective 7/1/2025)

Lender complaints: Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Fifth Third Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.69% – 21.74%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Truist

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

MoneyKey

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
295% – 401.20%
Loan amount
$200 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

RISE

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Tennessee's new flat 36% cap, effective July 2025, applies regardless of loan size, so a debt consolidation loan priced anywhere near that ceiling isn't likely to save much over a typical credit card APR.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Tennessee

National banks offer scale and broad networks, while Tennessee-based and regional banks compete on relationship banking and local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • First HorizonHeadquartered in Memphis, TN.
  • Regions BankHeadquartered in Birmingham, AL.
  • Pinnacle BankHeadquartered in Nashville, TN.
  • TruistHeadquartered in Charlotte, NC.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • ChaseNational bank.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

Tennessee credit unions posted median membership growth of about 3.4% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), alongside solid median asset growth (~2.6%).

The Tennessee Valley Authority seeded credit unions in Knoxville (1934) and Chattanooga (1936), each growing independently into multi-billion-dollar institutions from a shared TVA origin. Both added Select Employee Groups beginning in 1983 and later converted to community charters spanning multi-county economic development districts into Georgia and Alabama; TVA Community Credit Union converted to a state charter in 2006 to add North Alabama counties.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Ascend Federal Credit Union
  • Eastman Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • ORNL Federal Credit Union
  • TVA Community Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal. Tennessee adopted the Uniform Debt-Management Services Act effective July 1, 2010 (Tenn. Code Ann. § 47-18-5501 et seq.), regulated by the Department of Commerce and Insurance. Fees are capped at 30% of savings achieved, and providers must maintain a trust account, bond, and meet 17 statutory requirements including accreditation.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Tennessee insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/15

Tennessee requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, plus $15,000 for property damage.

Homeowners and renters

$1,368/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$183/yr

Tennessee carries real exposure to severe thunderstorms, tornadoes, and hail, particularly across the state's western and middle regions, along with occasional flooding.

07 / Questions

Tennessee FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Tennessee?

Contact the Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Tennessee.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Tennessee?

File with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Tennessee?

36% flat, for closed-end loans of $100 or more under the Industrial Loan and Thrift Companies Act, effective July 1, 2025. This replaced a prior tiered structure of 30% on loans up to $5,000 and 24% above that.

Are payday loans legal in Tennessee, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes, capped by a percentage of the check's face value. Payday loans are capped at $500, with a maximum fee of 15% of the face value, roughly 460% APR on a 14-day loan. Borrowers are limited to three outstanding loans total, no more than two from the same lender, and rollovers aren't allowed.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Tennessee before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written and oral contracts both carry a 6-year statute of limitations (Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-109).

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Tennessee?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates reduced payoffs but damages credit. Tennessee caps debt settlement fees at 30% of savings under its UDMSA framework.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text