Personal finance / NE

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Nebraska

Nebraskans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, under a two-tier rate schedule for licensed installment lenders.

State data updated 2026-08-06

28lenders in the dataset
NEstate guide
$1,684/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Nebraska

Nebraskans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events, under a two-tier rate schedule for licensed installment lenders.

Interest-rate law

The Installment Loan Act tiers licensed-lender rates at 24% on the first $1,000 of unpaid principal balance and 21% on everything above that, with a maximum 145-month term for loans between $3,000 and $25,000. Treatment of loans above $25,000 isn't fully clear from the statute's text and may fall under the general usury framework.

Loan rangeRateStatute
First $1,00024%Nebraska Installment Loan Act, §45-1024
Above $1,000, up to $25,00021%Nebraska Installment Loan Act, §45-1024
Above $25,000Unclear; may fall to general usury frameworkNot specified in dataset

Lender complaints: Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Nebraska's tiered schedule runs 24% on the first $1,000 and 21% above that, so a well-priced debt consolidation loan should land comfortably under those ceilings compared to a typical credit card APR.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Nebraska

National banks offer scale and convenience, while Nebraska-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • First National Bank of OmahaHeadquartered in Omaha, NE.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • Pinnacle BankHeadquartered in Lincoln, NE.
  • Great Western BankHeadquartered in Sioux Falls, SD, with a significant Nebraska presence.

Credit unions

Nebraska's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than comparable bank products, with membership tied to living, working, or having other ties to a specific group.

About -0.8% year-over-year median membership growth (Q4 2025 NCUA data), close to a national median of about -0.5%, alongside weak median loan growth (about -0.4%).

One of the smallest credit union sectors covered, with only about 13 credit unions statewide, reflecting rural agricultural cooperatives and narrow, single-employer roots. Nebraska's oldest, Post Office Employees Cooperative Credit Association, was chartered in 1928; Omaha Federal Credit Union was one of the country's earliest federal charter members in 1935.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Centris Federal Credit Union
  • Cobalt Credit Union
  • Liberty First Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • SAC Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal and licensed under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-1201 et seq. (Debt Management), regulated by the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance. No clearly documented fee cap; the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees is the baseline protection.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling

06 / Insurance

Nebraska insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Nebraska requires $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability plus $25,000 property damage liability. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are also required.

Homeowners and renters

$1,684/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$141/yr

9th-highest homeowners premium in the country (2021 NAIC data), driven largely by hail risk; Nebraska sits squarely in Tornado Alley and regularly ranks among the top states for hail-related insurance losses.

07 / Questions

Nebraska FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Nebraska?

Contact the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Nebraska.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Nebraska?

File with the Nebraska Department of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Nebraska?

24% on the first $1,000 of unpaid principal, and 21% on everything above that, under the Nebraska Installment Loan Act, for loans up to $25,000 with a maximum 145-month term. Loans above $25,000 aren't fully clear from the statute's text.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Nebraska?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+; FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s); some lenders serve poor or limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Nebraska, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

No, not in the traditional triple-digit-APR sense. Nebraskans voted in 2020 to cap payday loan APR at 36% via ballot initiative, similar to Colorado, South Dakota, and Montana, effectively eliminating the traditional high-cost payday loan product.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Nebraska before the statute of limitations runs out?

5 years for written contracts (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-205); 4 years for oral contracts (§ 25-206). Payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Nebraska?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with newly borrowed money at a fixed schedule, letting credit recover quickly. Debt settlement negotiates reduced balances but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts can be taxable. Nebraska requires debt settlement companies to be licensed.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text