Personal finance / SD

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in South Dakota

South Dakotans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

State data updated 2026-08-06

27lenders in the dataset
SDstate guide
$1,270/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in South Dakota

South Dakotans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

Interest-rate law

South Dakota's 'no cap' reputation is outdated for a typical borrower: the general usury statute is uncapped for written contracts (why credit card issuers relocated there), but state-licensed money lenders have been capped at a flat 36% APR since a 2016 ballot measure. Bank-chartered lenders remain exempt and uncapped.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Licensed 'money lender' loans, any sizeFlat 36% all-in APRInitiated Measure 21 (2016)
Bank-chartered lender loansUncapped under general usury statuteSouth Dakota general usury law

Lender complaints: South Dakota Division of Banking

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

If a lender is a licensed money lender, South Dakota's flat 36% cap applies regardless of loan size. If bank-chartered, no cap applies, so comparing offers directly matters even more.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in South Dakota

National banks offer scale and broad networks, while South Dakota-based and regional banks compete on relationship banking and local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Great Western BankHeadquartered in Sioux Falls, SD.
  • Dacotah BankHeadquartered in Aberdeen, SD.
  • First National BankHeadquartered in Omaha, NE, with a significant South Dakota presence.
  • BankWestHeadquartered in Pierre, SD.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

South Dakota credit unions posted median membership growth of about 4.1% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), one of the stronger figures in the comparison, alongside the highest median loan-to-share ratio (~108%) of any state compared.

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union began in 1934 among Armour Meat Packing employees and, after that plant closed in 1983, expanded to a 51-county rural district charter by 2024. Sentinel Federal Credit Union connects to Ellsworth Air Force Base. South Dakota eliminated interest rate caps entirely in 1980 to attract Citibank's credit card operations, though credit unions themselves remain capped at 18% under federal NCUA rules regardless of state usury law.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Black Hills Federal Credit Union
  • Dakotaland Federal Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Service First Federal Credit Union
  • Sioux Empire Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Regulated under S.D. Codified Laws § 37-34-1 et seq. (debt adjusting), but there's ambiguity in public sourcing about whether it's a true UDMSA enactment with the standard 30%-of-savings fee cap. The federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees is the baseline protection to rely on.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

South Dakota insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

South Dakota requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, plus $25,000 for property damage. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also required.

Homeowners and renters

$1,270/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$117/yr

South Dakota carries real exposure to severe thunderstorms, hail, and tornadoes during warmer months, along with harsh winter storms. Renters insurance premiums rank near the very bottom (50th) nationally.

07 / Questions

South Dakota FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in South Dakota?

Contact the South Dakota Division of Banking, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in South Dakota.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in South Dakota?

File with the South Dakota Division of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in South Dakota?

A state-licensed money lender is capped at a flat 36% all-in APR, at any loan size, following a 2016 ballot measure. A bank-chartered lender is exempt and remains genuinely uncapped under the general usury statute.

Are payday loans legal in South Dakota, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

No, not in the traditional triple-digit-APR sense. South Dakota's 2016 ballot measure (Initiated Measure 21) capped payday, installment, and auto title loans made by licensed money lenders at a flat 36% APR, effectively ending traditional payday lending in the state.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in South Dakota before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written and oral contracts both carry a 6-year statute of limitations (SDCL § 15-2-13). UCC sale-of-goods contracts get a shorter 4-year window.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in South Dakota?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates reduced payoffs but damages credit. South Dakota's debt adjusting statute has some ambiguity about its fee structure, so confirming a provider's standing matters more here.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text