Personal finance / OR

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Oregon

Oregonians use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major purchases, with rates for licensed lenders governed by a floating cap tied to the Federal Reserve's discount rate rather than a fixed percentage.

State data updated 2026-08-06

30lenders in the dataset
ORstate guide
$793/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Oregon

Oregonians use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major purchases, with rates for licensed lenders governed by a floating cap tied to the Federal Reserve's discount rate rather than a fixed percentage.

Interest-rate law

Licensed lenders under the Consumer Finance Act are exempt from the general usury statute; their cap floats 30 percentage points above the Federal Reserve's discount window primary credit rate, recalculated annually, typically landing in the low-to-mid 30s percent APR, with no tiering by loan size. Separately, the payday/title loan statute caps loans at a flat 36% APR (excluding a single origination fee) with a maximum loan size up to $50,000.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any amount (licensed lenders)30 points above Fed discount window rate (~low-to-mid 30s% APR)Consumer Finance Act, Chapter 725
Payday/title loans, up to $50,00036% flat (excluding one origination fee)Chapter 725A

Lender complaints: Oregon Division of Financial Regulation

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Oregon's floating-rate cap for licensed lenders (30 points above the Fed discount rate, currently landing in the low-to-mid 30s percent) applies regardless of loan size, so a well-priced consolidation loan should land meaningfully below that ceiling; comparing multiple lenders is the best way to find the lowest rate.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Oregon

National banks offer scale and convenience, while Oregon-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Columbia Bank (formerly Umpqua)Headquartered in Tacoma, WA, with a major Oregon presence.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • KeyBankHeadquartered in Cleveland, OH.
  • Banner BankHeadquartered in Walla Walla, WA.

Credit unions

Oregon's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than comparable bank products, with membership tied to living, working, or having other ties to a specific group.

About 0.6% year-over-year median membership growth (Q4 2025 NCUA data), compared to a national median of about -0.5%, alongside strong median asset growth (about 8%).

Rooted in timber, government, and education employers (Old West Federal Credit Union began serving a lumber company in 1957; Oregon State Credit Union and Mid Oregon Credit Union trace to postal and teacher groups). Oregon's state regulator permits broader community fields of membership than the NCUA, and a 2009 law let select-employee-group credit unions convert to community charters.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Advantis Credit Union
  • First Tech Federal Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • OnPoint Community Credit Union
  • Rivermark Community Credit Union
  • Unitus Community Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal; Debt Management Service Providers are governed by Or. Rev. Stat. § 697.602 et seq., regulated by the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, and must register and post a bond. No clearly documented fee cap; the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees is the baseline protection.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • American Consumer Credit Counseling
  • Community Tax
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth

06 / Insurance

Oregon insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/20

Oregon requires $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability plus $20,000 property damage liability. PIP, uninsured motorist, and underinsured motorist coverage are also required.

Homeowners and renters

$793/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$150/yr

The lowest average homeowners premium of any state (2021 NAIC data). Not required by state law. Oregon carries significant wildfire exposure, especially in dry eastern/southern regions, plus flooding and windstorms in the west.

07 / Questions

Oregon FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Oregon?

Contact the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders and is also Oregon's insurance regulator.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Oregon?

File with the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Oregon?

There's no fixed number; the ceiling for licensed lenders floats 30 percentage points above the Federal Reserve's discount window primary credit rate, typically landing in the low-to-mid 30s percent APR at any loan size.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Oregon?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+; FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s); some lenders serve poor or limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Oregon, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes, capped at a flat 36% APR (excluding an origination fee up to $10 per $100, capped at $30). Loans run 31-60 days with a max of two rollovers and a 7-day cooling-off period. Oregon's 2007 reform closed more than two-thirds of the state's payday storefronts.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Oregon before the statute of limitations runs out?

6 years for written contracts, oral contracts, and open accounts (ORS § 12.080). Court judgments remain enforceable for 10 years and can be renewed. Payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Oregon?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with newly borrowed money at a fixed schedule, letting credit recover quickly. Debt settlement negotiates reduced balances but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts can be taxable. Oregon requires debt settlement providers to register.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text