Good to excellent credit
American Express
- Credit profile
- Excellent
- APR range
- 6.99% – 19.99%
- Loan amount
- $3,500 – $40,000
Personal finance / IN
Hoosiers use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, fund home improvements, or pay for major life events, with both unsecured and secured options available.
01 / Personal loans
Hoosiers use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, fund home improvements, or pay for major life events, with both unsecured and secured options available.
Indiana's Uniform Consumer Credit Code splits loans into unlicensed "consumer loans" (flat 21%) and licensed "supervised loans" (tiered schedule up to $50,000), with a hard 72% criminal loansharking ceiling as an outer bound regardless of structuring.
| Loan range | Rate | Statute |
|---|---|---|
| Consumer loans (unlicensed) | 21% flat | Not specified in dataset |
| Supervised loans, first $2,000 | 36% | IC 24-4.5-3-508 |
| Supervised loans, $2,000 – $4,000 | 21% | IC 24-4.5-3-508 |
| Supervised loans, above $4,000 (up to $50,000) | 15% (or flat 25% if higher) | IC 24-4.5-3-508 |
| Any structure | 72% criminal loansharking ceiling (hard outer bound) | Not specified in dataset |
Lender complaints: Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
02 / Lender directory
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Good to excellent credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Fair credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
Poor or limited credit
03 / Debt consolidation
Indiana's tiered supervised-loan schedule runs from 36% on the first $2,000 down to 15% on amounts above $4,000, so a well-priced debt consolidation loan should land well under whatever tier applies to the balance; comparing multiple lenders is still worthwhile.
04 / Banking and credit unions
National banks offer scale and convenience while Indiana-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and local decision-making.
Indiana credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to location, employer, or association.
Median membership growth of about -1.1% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), versus a national median of about -0.5%, though Indiana posted a notably high median loan-to-share ratio (about 95%).
Midwest Steel's employees founded what became Midwest Family Federal Credit Union in 1962; Indiana Members Credit Union began in 1956 as the Indiana University Medical Center Federal Credit Union on the IUPUI campus. Growth has followed slow, county-by-county field-of-membership expansion, e.g. IMCU's field of membership spans dozens of individually added counties plus a slice of Kentucky.
Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.
05 / Debt settlement
Legal with licensing required under two overlapping statutes: the Debt Management Companies Act (Ind. Code § 28-1-29-1 et seq.) and the Credit Services Organizations Act (§ 24-5-15-1 et seq.), both regulated by the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions. No clearly documented fee cap beyond the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's advance-fee ban.
06 / Insurance
Indiana Department of Insurance
Insurance regulator website25/50/25
Indiana requires liability insurance of $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident bodily injury, plus $25,000 property damage.
$1,058/yr
Severe thunderstorms, hail, and tornadoes, particularly across the state's central and southern regions.
07 / Questions
Contact the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Indiana.
File with the Indiana Department of Insurance.
Unlicensed consumer loans are capped at a flat 21%. Licensed supervised loans follow a tiered schedule: 36% on the first $2,000, 21% on $2,000-$4,000, and 15% above $4,000 (or a flat 25% if higher), up to $50,000. A hard 72% criminal ceiling applies no matter the structure.
It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions generally want a FICO score of 700+, FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor/limited credit at higher APRs.
Yes, capped at $605 with tiered fees (15% on the first $250, 13% on $251-$400, 10% on $401-$605), roughly 391% APR on a typical 14-day loan. Indiana uniquely allows two payday loans outstanding at once (from different lenders) up to $605 combined or 20% of gross monthly income. Rollovers aren't allowed, but a lender can extend a loan up to three times.
Written contracts for payment of money have a 6-year statute of limitations (Ind. Code § 34-11-2-9); oral contracts and accounts also carry 6 years (§ 34-11-2-7). Written contracts not involving direct payment of money (e.g. most mortgages) get 10 years. A payment or acknowledgment can restart the clock.
A consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but requires halting payments first. Indiana licenses debt settlement companies under two overlapping statutes, a real regulatory layer, but the fundamental tradeoffs are the same as anywhere else.