Personal finance / AL

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Alabama

Alabamians use personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergency expenses, or finance home improvements, and most are unsecured, though secured options backed by home equity, a vehicle title, or savings exist.

State data updated 2026-08-06

35lenders in the dataset
ALstate guide
$1,610/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Alabama

Alabamians use personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergency expenses, or finance home improvements, and most are unsecured, though secured options backed by home equity, a vehicle title, or savings exist.

Interest-rate law

Alabama's rate cap depends on loan size rather than borrower credit: small loans under $1,500 are tightly capped, loans from $1,500-$2,000 fall under a separate 'Mini-Code,' and loans of $2,000 or more are essentially uncapped under the general usury statute.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Up to about $1,5003%/month (36% APR) on first $200, ~2%/month (24% APR) on $200-$1,500Alabama Small Loan Act, Ala. Code § 5-18-1 et seq.
About $1,500 to $2,00015%/year on first $750, 10%/year on $750-$2,000Alabama Consumer Credit Act ('Mini-Code'), Ala. Code Title 5, Chapter 19
$2,000 or moreNo practical rate ceiling for a written contract; only an unconscionability standard appliesAla. Code § 8-8-5 (general usury statute)

Lender complaints: Alabama State Banking Department

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Regions Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
9.24% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
No link in dataset

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% (with autopay) – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Truist

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Woodforest National Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.99% – 11.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Oportun

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
N/A – 35.95%
Loan amount
$300 – $10,000 unsecured (above $6k not available for first-time borrowers); $2,525–$18,500 with car title as collateral
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349% (470.12% CAB for TX)
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

RISE Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation loans replace multiple higher-rate debts, typically credit cards, with one new loan and one payment. Since Alabama caps rates only under $2,000, comparing multiple lenders matters more here than in states with a hard rate ceiling on larger loans.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Alabama

Alabama residents can choose between national banks offering scale (large ATM/branch networks, mobile apps) and regional/community banks offering relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • Regions BankHeadquartered in Birmingham, AL; one of the largest banks based in the Southeast.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • PNC BankNational bank, headquartered in Pittsburgh, PA.
  • TruistFormed from the 2019 merger of BB&T and Atlanta-based SunTrust; headquartered in Charlotte, NC.
  • ServisFirst BankHeadquartered in Birmingham, AL.
  • SynovusHeadquartered in Columbus, GA, with a long-standing presence across Alabama.
  • TrustmarkHeadquartered in Jackson, MS, with branches across Alabama.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than banks, but require membership eligibility tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

Alabama credit unions posted median membership growth of about -0.1% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), versus a national median of about -0.5% -- shrinking, but more slowly than the national trend.

Alabama's credit union sector traces to 1936, when nineteen U.S. Steel workers at Ensley Works in Birmingham pooled $1,500 to found the Iron and Steel Workers Credit Union, which became America's First Federal Credit Union. It broadened membership beyond steel industries during the 1980s steel crisis and received a full community charter in 2005. Alabama Rural Electric Credit Union (1969) represents a separate rural-cooperative lineage.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Alabama Credit Union
  • America's First Federal Credit Union
  • APCO Employees Credit Union
  • Listerhill Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Redstone Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Alabama does not appear to have a dedicated debt-settlement or debt-adjusting statute, and no state license is presently required. The main protection is the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees before a debt is settled.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Alabama insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Alabama requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, plus $25,000 for property damage.

Homeowners and renters

$1,610/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$222/yr

Alabama faces significant hurricane and tropical storm exposure along the Gulf Coast (Mobile and Baldwin counties) and sits within 'Dixie Alley,' with some of the highest tornado fatality rates in the country.

07 / Questions

Alabama FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Alabama?

Contact the Alabama State Banking Department, which licenses and supervises state-chartered banks, credit unions, and consumer lenders in Alabama.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Alabama?

File with the Alabama Department of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Alabama?

It depends entirely on the loan size. Loans up to about $1,500 are capped under the Alabama Small Loan Act at roughly 36% APR on the first $200, stepping down to about 24% APR above that. Loans from about $1,500 to $2,000 fall under the Mini-Code at 15% per year on the first $750 and 10% per year above that. Loans of $2,000 or more fall under Alabama's general usury statute, which has no real rate cap for a written contract.

Are payday loans legal in Alabama, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes. Payday lending is legal and regulated under the Alabama Deferred Presentment Services Act. Loans are capped at $500, with a maximum fee of 17.5% of the amount advanced and a term of 10 to 31 days, working out to roughly 456% APR on a typical two-week loan. Borrowers can only have one outstanding payday loan at a time.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Alabama before the statute of limitations runs out?

Most written contracts, including personal loans, have a 6-year statute of limitations (Ala. Code § 6-2-34). Open accounts, like credit card debt, have a shorter 3-year window (Ala. Code § 6-2-37). Making a payment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Alabama?

A debt consolidation loan pays off existing debts in full using newly borrowed money, usually at a lower rate, repaid on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates with creditors to accept less than the full balance, usually requiring you to stop paying first, which damages credit and may create taxable forgiven-debt income. Alabama has no dedicated debt settlement statute, so federal rules are the main protection.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text