Personal finance / WA

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Washington

Washingtonians use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

State data updated 2026-08-06

25lenders in the dataset
WAstate guide
$1,001/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Washington

Washingtonians use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, finance home improvements, or manage major expenses, typically through unsecured loans priced on credit and income.

Interest-rate law

Washington's Consumer Loan Act sets a flat 25% simple-interest cap for licensed lenders regardless of loan size, backed by a 2024 true-lender law (SB 6025) targeting bank-partnership rate evasion.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any loan sizeFlat 25% simple interestWashington Consumer Loan Act

Lender complaints: Washington Department of Financial Institutions

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Zions Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
11.26% – 27.97%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Washington's flat 25% cap applies regardless of loan size, so a debt consolidation loan priced anywhere near that ceiling isn't likely to save much over a typical credit card APR. Look for a rate meaningfully below 25% and compare multiple lenders.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Washington

National banks offer scale and broad networks, while Washington-based and regional banks compete on relationship banking and local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • KeyBankHeadquartered in Cleveland, OH.
  • Banner BankHeadquartered in Walla Walla, WA.
  • Columbia BankHeadquartered in Tacoma, WA.
  • WaFd BankHeadquartered in Seattle, WA.

Credit unions

Credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to geography, employer, or affiliation.

Washington credit unions posted median membership growth of about 2.2% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), alongside solid median loan growth (~1.1%).

Washington law explicitly allows a credit union to serve the entire state once it broadens beyond its founding sponsor. BECU, founded in 1935 by eighteen Boeing employees with a metal lunch box for a vault, broadened membership in 1968, reached statewide coverage by the early 2000s, and now holds roughly 31% of all Washington state-chartered credit union membership.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • BECU
  • Kitsap Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Numerica Credit Union
  • Sound Credit Union
  • WSECU

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal and regulated under the Debt Adjusting chapter (RCW 18.28), with strict fee caps administered by the Department of Financial Institutions. Total fees are capped at 15% of the total debt listed on the contract, with the initial charge capped at $25. A front-page 12-point disclosure of the 15% cap is required for third-party account administrators, and a violation is automatically a Consumer Protection Act violation.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Washington insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/10

Washington requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, plus $10,000 for property damage.

Homeowners and renters

$1,001/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$159/yr

Washington carries real exposure to wildfires in its drier eastern regions, along with severe windstorms and occasional flooding in the wetter western part of the state.

07 / Questions

Washington FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Washington?

Contact the Washington Department of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Washington.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Washington?

File with the Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Washington?

25% flat for a licensed lender under the Consumer Loan Act, with no tiering by loan size. A 2024 true-lender law (SB 6025) also codified a predominant-economic-interest test to prevent bank-partnership evasion of this cap.

Are payday loans legal in Washington, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes, capped tightly. Payday loans are capped at $700 or 30% of gross monthly income, whichever is less, with a maximum 45-day term. Fees run 15% on the first $500 and 10% on $500-$700, roughly a 391% APR. Borrowers are limited to eight loans per 12-month period, rollovers aren't allowed, and 2010 reforms reduced storefront locations by more than 88% since 2006.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Washington before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts and accounts receivable have a 6-year statute of limitations (RCW 4.16.040). Oral contracts and open accounts have a 3-year window (RCW 4.16.080).

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Washington?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money on a fixed schedule. Debt settlement negotiates reduced payoffs but damages credit. Washington caps debt settlement fees at 15% of total listed debt, a real consumer protection.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text