Personal finance / AR

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Arkansas

Arkansans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

27lenders in the dataset
ARstate guide
$1,611/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Arkansas

Arkansans take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Arkansas has the strictest usury law in the country, written directly into its constitution. Amendment 89 (approved 2010) caps consumer loans and credit sales at a flat 17% per year, with no licensed-lender exception and no tiering by loan size. A loan priced above the cap is void as to both principal and interest. National banks are exempt via federal preemption.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any loan amountFlat 17% per year capArkansas Constitution, Amendment 89

Lender complaints: Arkansas Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Arkansas's 17% constitutional usury cap is the tightest in the country, so a debt consolidation loan priced at or under that ceiling can offer real savings over typical credit card APRs; watch for loans structured through a bank partnership at a rate above 17%.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Arkansas

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Arkansas-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • Arvest BankHeadquartered in Bentonville, AR.
  • Simmons BankHeadquartered in Pine Bluff, AR.
  • Bank OZKHeadquartered in Little Rock, AR.
  • Regions BankHeadquartered in Birmingham, AL, with a long-standing Arkansas branch presence.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • Centennial BankHeadquartered in Conway, AR.

Credit unions

Arkansas's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, forming one of the smaller and more consolidated sectors in the country.

Arkansas credit unions posted median membership growth of about -0.3% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), compared to a national median of about -0.5%, with a notable decline in median loan growth (about -1.4%).

Arkansas Federal Credit Union, founded in 1956 to serve personnel at Little Rock Air Force Base, has grown into the state's largest financial cooperative. United Arkansas, originally Pulaski Federal Credit Union (chartered 1982), grew largely by merging in half a dozen smaller single-employer credit unions rooted in a newspaper, a valve manufacturer, and a grocery distributor.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Arkansas Federal Credit Union
  • Diamond Lakes Federal Credit Union
  • First Community Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Telcoe Federal Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Not legal for a typical for-profit company. Arkansas law (Ark. Code Ann. § 5-63-301 et seq.) outright prohibits engaging in the business of debt adjusting, one of only a handful of states with a hard ban rather than a licensing or fee-cap regime.

06 / Insurance

Arkansas insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Arkansas requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $25,000 for property damage liability. Insurers must also offer at least $5,000 in PIP coverage, though it can be declined in writing.

Homeowners and renters

$1,611/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$206/yr

Arkansas sits squarely in Tornado Alley's eastern extension, with severe thunderstorms, hail, and tornadoes among the state's most common and costly homeowner insurance claims.

07 / Questions

Arkansas FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Arkansas?

Contact the Arkansas Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division, which handles consumer complaints about lenders and financial services companies.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Arkansas?

File with the Arkansas Insurance Department.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Arkansas?

17% per year, flat, for any loan size, under Amendment 89 to the Arkansas Constitution, with no licensed-lender exception. A loan priced above 17% is void as to both principal and interest. National banks are exempt via federal preemption.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Arkansas?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Arkansas, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

No. The Arkansas Supreme Court ruled in 2008 that Check Cashers Act fees were, in substance, interest violating the 17% constitutional usury cap, and the last storefront payday lender left the state in August 2009.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Arkansas before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts have a 5-year statute of limitations, while open accounts like many credit cards fall under a 3-year window; exact treatment can depend on the agreement's classification.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Arkansas?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but damages credit and may create taxable forgiven income. In Arkansas, state law prohibits for-profit debt adjusting outright, making a debt consolidation loan (subject to the 17% cap) the more clearly legal path.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text