Personal finance / MN

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Minnesota

Minnesotans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, fund home improvements, or pay for major life events, with both unsecured and secured options available.

State data updated 2026-08-06

32lenders in the dataset
MNstate guide
$1,607/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Minnesota

Minnesotans use personal loans to consolidate credit card debt, cover emergencies, fund home improvements, or pay for major life events, with both unsecured and secured options available.

Interest-rate law

Minnesota splits its rate framework by loan type. Regulated lenders under the Consumer Credit Code (loans up to $100,000) can charge whichever produces more revenue between a flat rate or a tiered schedule. Smaller, shorter-term loans get their own flat, higher cap following 2023 reform.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Regulated loans up to $100,000Greater of flat 21.75% APR, or 33% on first ~$1,425 and 19% on the remainder§47.59
Consumer small loan (up to $350) / consumer short-term loan (up to $1,300, ≤60 days)36% flat all-in APR2023 reform, effective Jan 1, 2024

Lender complaints: Minnesota Department of Commerce

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Huntington Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.47% – 25%
Loan amount
$0 – $50,000
No link in dataset

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Minnesota's regulated-lender cap runs 21.75% flat or a tiered 33%/19% blend, so a well-priced debt consolidation loan should land well under whichever applies to your loan size; comparing multiple lenders is still worthwhile.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Minnesota

National banks offer scale and convenience while Minnesota-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and local decision-making.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Bremer BankHeadquartered in St. Paul, MN.
  • BMOU.S. headquarters in Chicago, IL; part of Bank of Montreal.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Old National BankHeadquartered in Evansville, IN.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.

Credit unions

Minnesota credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower rates and fewer fees than banks, with membership tied to location, employer, or association.

Median membership growth of about 0.1% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), versus a national median of about -0.5%, alongside solid median asset growth (about 4.0%).

Grew out of Minnesota's deep cooperative culture (Land O'Lakes, the Farmers Union, rural grocery/electric co-ops) already established by the 1930s-40s. State-chartered credit unions can combine multiple field-of-membership types into a single charter. Minnesota chartered its first new credit union in 23 years recently: Arise Community Credit Union, the state's first Black-led credit union.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union
  • Hiway Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • SPIRE Credit Union
  • Wings Financial Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal with specific, well-documented fee caps. Providers must register under Minn. Stat. ch. 332B, regulated by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Fees capped at 15% of aggregate enrolled debt or 30% of negotiated savings, plus an origination fee of $200 (under $20,000 debt) or $400 (at or above $20,000). No fee can be collected before a bona fide written settlement offer, and verbatim consumer warnings are required.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Minnesota insurance

Auto insurance

30/60/10

Minnesota requires liability insurance of $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident bodily injury, plus $10,000 property damage, plus PIP, uninsured motorist, and underinsured motorist coverage as a no-fault state.

Homeowners and renters

$1,607/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$132/yr

Severe thunderstorms, hail, tornadoes, and heavy winter snow and ice loads that can cause roof damage.

07 / Questions

Minnesota FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Minnesota?

Contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders and is also the state's insurance regulator.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Minnesota?

File with the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Minnesota?

Regulated lenders can charge whichever is greater: a flat 21.75% APR, or a tiered schedule of 33% on the first ~$1,425 and 19% on the remainder, for loans up to $100,000. Small short-term loan products (up to $350, or $1,300 for 60-day short-term loans) get a flat 36% all-in cap under a 2024 reform.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Minnesota?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions generally want a FICO score of 700+, FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor/limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Minnesota, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes, but tightened substantially starting January 1, 2024. Consumer small loans are capped at $350 with a flat 36% all-in APR. Rollovers are prohibited and terms capped at 30 days. A federal loophole still lets out-of-state bank partners offer higher rates; a 2024 bill to close it for all lending did not pass.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Minnesota before the statute of limitations runs out?

Minnesota applies a uniform 6-year statute of limitations to essentially all consumer debt (Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1); UCC goods-sale debt gets a shorter 4-year window. A payment or acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Minnesota?

A consolidation loan pays off debts in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but requires halting payments first, damaging credit, with forgiven debt potentially taxable. Minnesota caps debt settlement fees fairly specifically, a real consumer protection.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text