Personal finance / GA

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Georgia

Georgians take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

31lenders in the dataset
GAstate guide
$1,466/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Georgia

Georgians take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Georgia runs two rate regimes split at $3,000, with the smallest loans priced most aggressively. Loans of $3,000 or less fall under the Georgia Installment Loan Act (about 5% per month / 60% APR plus fees). Loans over $3,000 fall under Georgia's general usury framework: 16% if the rate isn't specified in writing, or up to about 5% per month (60% annualized) if it is and the loan qualifies.

Loan rangeRateStatute
$3,000 or lessAbout 5% per month (60% APR) plus allowable flat feesGeorgia Installment Loan Act
Over $3,00016% if rate not specified in writing; up to ~5%/month (60% annualized) if specified in writing and loan qualifiesGeneral usury framework

Lender complaints: Georgia Department of Banking and Finance

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Fifth Third Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.69% – 21.74%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Truist

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Because Georgia's Installment Loan Act allows effective rates as high as roughly 60% on loans under $3,000, a small debt consolidation loan can cost more than the credit card debt it replaces; larger consolidation loans over $3,000 generally see better pricing under the general usury framework.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Georgia

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Georgia-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • TruistHeadquartered in Charlotte, NC, formed from the 2019 BB&T/SunTrust merger; SunTrust itself traced to Atlanta.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Regions BankHeadquartered in Birmingham, AL, with a large Georgia branch presence.
  • SynovusHeadquartered in Columbus, GA.
  • Ameris BankHeadquartered in Atlanta, GA.

Credit unions

Georgia's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, unusually concentrated around a single dominant institution.

Georgia credit unions posted median membership growth of about -0.2% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), compared to a national median of about -0.5%, alongside solid median loan growth (about 2.1%).

Delta Community Credit Union, founded in 1940 by eight Delta Air Lines employees who pooled $45 in capital, has grown into Georgia's largest credit union by a wide margin. The last new credit union to receive a Georgia state charter did so in 1997; growth since has come through existing credit unions expanding field of membership or mergers rather than new formation, reinforced by explosive population growth around metro Atlanta.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Associated Credit Union
  • Delta Community Credit Union
  • Georgia's Own Credit Union
  • LGE Community Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Robins Financial Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal, with unusually specific fee rules. Governed by the Georgia Debt Adjustment Act (O.C.G.A. § 18-5-1 et seq.) and enforced by the Georgia Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division. Fees are capped at more than 7.5% of the amount actually paid each month for distribution to creditors, though a reasonable NSF fee is allowed. Attorneys and certain incidental activity are exempt from licensing.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling

06 / Insurance

Georgia insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Georgia requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $25,000 for property damage liability.

Homeowners and renters

$1,466/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$205/yr

Georgia carries real exposure to severe thunderstorms, hail, and tornadoes, along with the tail end of Gulf and Atlantic hurricanes bringing wind and flooding well inland.

07 / Questions

Georgia FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Georgia?

Contact the Georgia Department of Banking and Finance, which licenses and supervises installment lenders and consumer finance companies operating in Georgia.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Georgia?

File with the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Georgia?

Loans of $3,000 or less fall under the Georgia Installment Loan Act (about 5%/month, 60% APR, plus fees). Loans over $3,000 fall under the general usury framework: 16% if not specified in writing, or up to about 5%/month (60% annualized) if specified in writing.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Georgia?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Georgia, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

No. Payday loans are illegal in Georgia; the Georgia Industrial Loan Act of 1955 and Georgia Payday Lending Act of 2004 made violations criminal, with fines up to $5,000 per violation and up to a year in jail. A licensed installment lender can still make loans under $3,000 under the Installment Loan Act.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Georgia before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts have a 6-year statute of limitations (O.C.G.A. § 9-3-24); oral contracts and open accounts have a 4-year window (§ 9-3-26). A payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Georgia?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but damages credit and may create taxable forgiven income. Georgia caps debt settlement fees at 7.5% of what you actually pay toward creditors each month, a real consumer protection.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text