Personal finance / ID

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Idaho

Idahoans use personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover unexpected car or medical expenses, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

37lenders in the dataset
IDstate guide
$884/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Idaho

Idahoans use personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover unexpected car or medical expenses, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Idaho personal loan rates are genuinely uncapped: the general usury statute sets a 12% default only when no rate is agreed in writing, and the Idaho Credit Code's regulated consumer loan provision allows whatever rate the parties agree to. A 2024 bill to add a 30%-or-10-over-prime cap failed to pass.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Any loan amountNo statutory ceiling; lender sets rate by agreementIdaho Code § 28-22-104; § 28-42-201

Lender complaints: Idaho Department of Finance

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Zions Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
11.26% – 27.97%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

CreditNinja

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
195.75% – 349%
Loan amount
$300 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Kwikcash

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
99% – 499%
Loan amount
$250 – $1,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

MoneyKey

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
295% – 401.20%
Loan amount
$200 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Security Finance

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
N/A – 124.48%
Loan amount
$477 – $2,500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

World Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
N/A – 99%
Loan amount
$450 – $12,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Because Idaho does not cap rates for licensed lenders, there is no legal ceiling protecting borrowers from a debt consolidation loan priced at or above their existing credit card APR, making shopping around especially important.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Idaho

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Idaho-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Zions BankHeadquartered in Salt Lake City, UT, with a significant Idaho presence.
  • Washington Trust BankHeadquartered in Spokane, WA.
  • Glacier BankHeadquartered in Kalispell, MT.
  • KeyBankHeadquartered in Cleveland, OH.

Credit unions

Idaho's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, with membership tied to specific geographic, employer, or affinity groups.

Idaho credit unions posted median membership growth of about 6.9% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), one of the strongest in the country versus a national median of about -0.5%, and the highest median loan-to-share ratio of any state (about 90%).

Idaho Central Credit Union's field of membership was widened by the state's Department of Finance in small steps across 1953, 1972, 1977, and beyond. Idaho Central started in 1940 among Idaho Department of Agriculture employees; East Idaho and Frontier Credit Union trace to federal government employees; Icon Credit Union grew out of Boise Cascade's timber workforce. Idaho Central grew into the state's dominant credit union with over $14 billion in assets largely through steady regulatory approval.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • CapEd Credit Union
  • Idaho Central Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Numerica Credit Union
  • Pioneer Federal Credit Union
  • Westmark Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal and requires licensing. Debt settlement providers, called 'debt counselors' under Idaho law, must be licensed under the Idaho Collection Agency Act's debt-counselor provisions (Idaho Code § 26-2221 et seq.) and are regulated by the Idaho Department of Finance. No specific fee cap or cooling-off period is clearly established, so the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees is the baseline protection.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • ClearOne Advantage

06 / Insurance

Idaho insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/15

Idaho requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $15,000 for property damage liability.

Homeowners and renters

$884/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$146/yr

Idaho carries real exposure to wildfires, particularly in forested central and northern regions, along with severe winter storms and flooding from spring snowmelt.

07 / Questions

Idaho FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Idaho?

Contact the Idaho Department of Finance, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders, payday lenders, and title lenders operating in Idaho.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Idaho?

File with the Idaho Department of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Idaho?

There isn't one. Idaho's licensed lenders can charge whatever rate a borrower agrees to in writing, under both the general usury statute and the Idaho Credit Code's regulated consumer loan provision.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Idaho?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Idaho, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Yes. Payday loans are capped at $1,000 or 25% of gross monthly income, whichever is smaller, with up to 3 renewals (4 loans total). There's no rate cap, so finance charges commonly run $15-$30 per $100 borrowed, translating to APRs of 300%-400%.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Idaho before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts have a 5-year statute of limitations (Idaho Code § 5-216); oral contracts have a 4-year window (§ 5-217). A payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Idaho?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate, repaid on a fixed schedule; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts may be taxable. Because Idaho's rates aren't capped for licensed lenders, comparing the actual math on a consolidation offer matters even more.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text