Personal finance / CT

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Connecticut

Connecticut residents take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

State data updated 2026-08-06

23lenders in the dataset
CTstate guide
$1,651/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Connecticut

Connecticut residents take out personal loans mainly to consolidate credit card debt, cover car repairs or medical bills, finance home improvements, or pay for weddings and moves, with most loans unsecured.

Interest-rate law

Connecticut's general usury cap is a flat 12% per year unless the lender is a bank, credit union, or licensed Small Loan Act lender. A 2023 amendment expanded the Small Loan Act's reach to non-mortgage consumer loans up to $50,000 (up from $15,000) with an APR over 12%, and added a 'true lender' standard.

Loan rangeRateStatute
Unlicensed lender, any amount12% flat annual capConn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-573
Licensed Small Loan Act lender, first $600 (unsecured)$17 per $100 (add-on rate)Small Loan Act
Licensed Small Loan Act lender, remainder up to $50,000$11 per $100 (add-on rate)Small Loan Act
Open-end (revolving) loans from licensed lenderUp to 19.8%Not specified in dataset

Lender complaints: Connecticut Department of Banking

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

M&T Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.74% – 13.94%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $5,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Santander

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

TD Bank

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 23.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
No link in dataset

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Connecticut's general usury cap is 12%, and even a licensed small loan lender's statutory rate schedule works out to well under what a typical credit card charges, so a well-priced debt consolidation loan can offer real savings; verify any lender quoting a rate meaningfully above the low double digits is actually licensed.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Connecticut

National banks offer scale and convenience, while regional and Connecticut-based banks compete on relationship banking and faster local decisions.

Banks listed

  • Webster BankHeadquartered in Stamford, CT.
  • Bank of AmericaNational bank.
  • Wells FargoNational bank.
  • ChaseNational bank.
  • TD BankU.S. headquarters in Cherry Hill, NJ; part of Toronto-Dominion Bank.
  • M&T BankHeadquartered in Buffalo, NY, with a longstanding Connecticut branch presence.
  • Liberty BankHeadquartered in Middletown, CT.

Credit unions

Connecticut's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions offering lower rates and fees than banks, grown out of the state's dense aerospace and defense-manufacturing base.

Connecticut credit unions posted median membership growth of about -1.5% year over year (Q4 2025 NCUA data), compared to a national median of about -0.5%, with negative median loan growth (about -1.3%) even as median asset growth was solid (about 3.3%).

American Eagle Financial Credit Union began in 1935 as East Hartford Aircraft Federal Credit Union among Pratt & Whitney employees, and Sikorsky Credit Union grew out of the helicopter manufacturer's workforce. Connecticut's first state credit union law dates to 1945, bringing existing informal 'mutual benefit associations' under Department of Banking supervision. Membership grew from 4,950 in 1946 to nearly 295,000 by 2009 even as the number of individual credit unions shrank.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • American Eagle Financial Credit Union
  • Charter Oak Federal Credit Union
  • Connex Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal, requiring licensing for both for-profit and nonprofit debt adjusters under Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 36a-655 to 36a-665 and §§ 36a-671 to 36a-671e, regulated by the Connecticut Department of Banking. Licensed providers must keep a separate bank account for debtors, post a surety bond, and provide a written contract. A 2025 Connecticut Supreme Court decision clarified the attorney exemption applies only to actual attorneys and law firms.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling
  • Accredited

06 / Insurance

Connecticut insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/20

Connecticut requires liability insurance with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, plus $20,000 for property damage liability. Connecticut also requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Homeowners and renters

$1,651/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$171/yr

Connecticut sees real exposure to coastal storms and flooding along Long Island Sound, along with winter storm and ice damage further inland.

07 / Questions

Connecticut FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Connecticut?

Contact the Connecticut Department of Banking, which licenses and supervises small loan lenders, banks, and credit unions operating in Connecticut.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Connecticut?

File with the Connecticut Insurance Department.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Connecticut?

The general usury cap is a flat 12% per year for unlicensed lenders. A Small Loan Act licensee can charge $17 per $100 on the first $600 and $11 per $100 above that (add-on rate), or up to 19.8% on open-end loans, for loans up to $50,000 as of October 2023.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Connecticut?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+, online FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s), and some lenders serve poor or limited credit at significantly higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Connecticut, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

No. Payday lending is effectively illegal; the combination of the small loan law, check casher law, and 12% general usury cap makes triple-digit payday rates unlawful for any lender that isn't a bank, credit union, or Small Loan Act licensee.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Connecticut before the statute of limitations runs out?

Written contracts have a 6-year statute of limitations (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-576); oral contracts have a 3-year window (§ 52-581). A payment or written acknowledgment can restart the clock.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Connecticut?

A debt consolidation loan pays creditors in full with new borrowed money at a lower rate; credit recovers quickly. Debt settlement negotiates a reduced payoff but damages credit and may create taxable forgiven income. Connecticut licenses both for-profit and nonprofit debt adjusters, a more evenly applied regulatory approach than many states.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text