Personal finance / OH

Personal loans, banking, insurance, and debt help in Ohio

Ohioans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events. Ohio runs four overlapping licensing regimes with different rate caps, and the effective cost to a borrower often exceeds the headline percentage once fees are added.

State data updated 2026-08-06

36lenders in the dataset
OHstate guide
$920/yraverage homeowners premium in dataset
51jurisdictions in the dataset

01 / Personal loans

Personal loans in Ohio

Ohioans use personal loans for debt consolidation, unexpected expenses, home improvement, and major life events. Ohio runs four overlapping licensing regimes with different rate caps, and the effective cost to a borrower often exceeds the headline percentage once fees are added.

Interest-rate law

The Small Loan Act (up to $5,000) tiers at 28% on the first $1,000 and 22% above that. The Short-Term Loan Act caps loans at $1,000 with a nominal 28% rate, but fees can push real effective APRs to roughly 200%. Loans of $10,000 or more fall under the Residential/General Loan Law (25% cap) or the 8% default usury rate if unlicensed.

Loan rangeRateStatute
First $1,000 (Small Loan Act, up to $5,000)28%Small Loan Act
$1,000 – $5,000 (Small Loan Act)22%Small Loan Act
Up to $1,000 (Short-Term Loan Act)28% nominal, effective APR up to ~200% with feesOhio Fairness in Lending Act (HB 123)
$10,000+25% cap (Residential/General Loan Law) or 8% default if unlicensedResidential/General Loan Law

Lender complaints: Ohio Division of Financial Institutions

02 / Lender directory

Lenders by credit profile

Good to excellent credit

American Express

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 19.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Axos Bank

Credit profile
Excellent
APR range
11.79% – 20.84%
Loan amount
$7,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Citi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.99% – 17.49%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $30,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Discover

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.99% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Fifth Third Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.69% – 21.74%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Happy Money

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Huntington Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.47% – 25%
Loan amount
$0 – $50,000
No link in dataset

Good to excellent credit

KeyBank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.99% – 22.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

LightStream

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PNC Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
7.89% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

PenFed

Credit profile
Good
APR range
7.99% – 17.99%
Loan amount
$500 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Prosper

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Reach Financial

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
5.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $40,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Rocket Loans

Credit profile
Good
APR range
8.01% – 29.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $45,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

SoFi

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$5,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Truist

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.39%
Loan amount
$3,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

USAA

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
9.89% – 18.51%
Loan amount
$2,500 – $100,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

US Bank

Credit profile
Not specified
APR range
8.74% – 24.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Good to excellent credit

Wells Fargo

Credit profile
Good - Excellent
APR range
6.74% – 25.99%
Loan amount
$3,000 – $100,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Avant

Credit profile
Poor to Good
APR range
9.95% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $35,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Best Egg

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
6.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$2,000 – $50,000
View lender details

Fair credit

Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.04% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $60,000
No link in dataset

Fair credit

LendingPoint

Credit profile
Fair
APR range
7.99% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $36,500
View lender details

Fair credit

Navy Federal Credit Union

Credit profile
Fair - Excellent
APR range
8.74% – 18%
Loan amount
$250 – $50,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Fig Loans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
190% – 209%
Loan amount
$300 – $500
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Integra Credit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
149% – 399%
Loan amount
$500 – $3,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Mariner Finance

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
15.49% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $25,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

NetCredit

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
34% – 99.99%
Loan amount
$1,000 – $10,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OneMain Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
18% – 35.99%
Loan amount
$1,500 – $20,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

OppLoans

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
160% – 195%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Personify Financial

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
36% – 179.50%
Loan amount
$500 – $15,000
View lender details

Poor or limited credit

Rise

Credit profile
Poor
APR range
99% – 199%
Loan amount
$500 – $5,000
View lender details

03 / Debt consolidation

Debt consolidation

Given Ohio's overlapping rate regimes, the ceiling that applies depends heavily on lender licensing category and loan structure, so comparing the actual disclosed APR across multiple offers matters more in Ohio than almost anywhere else, since the headline rate may not reflect the full fee-inclusive cost.

04 / Banking and credit unions

Banking in Ohio

National banks offer scale and convenience, while Ohio-based regional and community banks compete on relationship banking and faster local lending decisions.

Banks listed

  • ChaseNational bank.
  • Huntington BankHeadquartered in Columbus, OH.
  • Fifth Third BankHeadquartered in Cincinnati, OH.
  • KeyBankHeadquartered in Cleveland, OH.
  • PNC BankNational bank, headquartered in Pittsburgh, PA.
  • US BankNational bank, headquartered in Minneapolis, MN.
  • Park National BankHeadquartered in Newark, OH.

Credit unions

Ohio's credit unions are member-owned, not-for-profit institutions that often post lower loan rates and fewer fees than comparable bank products, with membership tied to living, working, or having other ties to a specific group.

About 5.4% year-over-year median membership growth (Q4 2025 NCUA data), one of the stronger figures nationally, alongside solid asset growth (about 5.0%) and a notably high median loan-to-share ratio (about 93%).

Dense and fragmented, built on industrial and employer roots: auto-parts plants seeded 7 17 Credit Union (Packard Electric/GM workers, 1957) and Superior Credit Union (1954), while a federal Air Force installation produced Wright-Patt Credit Union, now Ohio's largest. Liberalization happened piecemeal; Lima Superior individually lobbied the NCUA in the early 1980s for the first community charter granted to a U.S. city over 50,000 residents.

Federally insured credit union deposits are protected up to $250,000 through the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.

Credit unions listed

  • Directions Credit Union
  • Kemba Financial Credit Union
  • Navy Federal Credit Union
  • Wright-Patt Credit Union

05 / Debt settlement

Debt settlement

Legal, though the statute historically leans nonprofit-oriented for debt adjusting under Ohio Rev. Code § 4710.01 et seq., with some ambiguity in how it's been applied to for-profit activity. No clearly documented fee cap; the federal Telemarketing Sales Rule's ban on advance fees is the baseline protection.

Companies listed in the dataset

  • Lexington Law
  • National Debt Relief
  • Freedom Debt Relief
  • CuraDebt
  • JG Wentworth
  • American Consumer Credit Counseling

06 / Insurance

Ohio insurance

Auto insurance

25/50/25

Ohio requires $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident bodily injury liability plus $25,000 property damage liability.

Homeowners and renters

$920/yr

State requirement
No
National homeowners average
$1,337/yr
Renters average
$160/yr

One of the lowest premiums in the country (45th, 2021 NAIC data). Ohio faces severe thunderstorms, tornadoes, hail, and lake-effect winter storms near Lake Erie.

07 / Questions

Ohio FAQs

How do I file a complaint against a lender in Ohio?

Contact the Ohio Division of Financial Institutions, which licenses and supervises consumer lenders operating in Ohio.

How do I file a complaint against my insurance company in Ohio?

File with the Ohio Department of Insurance.

What's the maximum interest rate a lender can legally charge on a personal loan in Ohio?

It depends on the licensing category. The Small Loan Act tiers at 28% on the first $1,000 and 22% above that up to $5,000. The Short-Term Loan Law caps loans at $1,000 with a nominal 28% rate but effective APRs with fees can run far higher. Loans of $10,000+ typically fall under the Residential/General Loan Law's 25% cap or the 8% default rate if unlicensed.

What credit score do I need for a personal loan in Ohio?

It depends on the lender. Banks and credit unions typically want a FICO score of 700+; FinTech lenders work with fair credit (low-to-mid 600s); some lenders serve poor or limited credit at higher APRs.

Are payday loans legal in Ohio, and are there caps on fees or loan amounts?

Only under a reformed structure since 2019 (Ohio Fairness in Lending Act, HB 123): a minimum 91-day term, nominal 28% interest cap, and total outstanding short-term principal capped at $2,500 per borrower. Real effective APRs with maintenance fees can still land around 148%.

How long can a debt collector legally pursue an unpaid debt in Ohio before the statute of limitations runs out?

6 years for written contracts (ORC § 2305.06) following a 2021 reform that shortened it from 8 years. Oral contracts have a 4-year window (ORC § 2305.07), down from 6 years. These apply to claims accruing on or after June 14, 2021.

What's the difference between a debt consolidation loan and debt settlement for someone living in Ohio?

A debt consolidation loan pays off debts in full with newly borrowed money at a fixed schedule, letting credit recover quickly. Debt settlement negotiates reduced balances but requires stopping payments first, damaging credit, and forgiven amounts can be taxable. Ohio's debt adjusting statute leans nonprofit-oriented with some ambiguity around for-profit activity.

Important: This guide displays imported information for general education, not legal or financial advice. Confirm current terms and requirements with the relevant lender, provider, or regulator before acting.

Stay in the loop / The Yukon Project

A note for your inbox.

Keep in touch with the people behind Our Videos. Join The Yukon Project newsletter.

From the people behind the notes.

Read our privacy policy

Save a place in your inbox

Some error text
Some error text